Journée Phare 2016

hebergement-hotel-chateau-bromont

  December 1-2 2016
Location  Hotel Château Bromont

 

 

 

 

Number of participants: 250

 

 

 

Thursday, December 1st:

 

  • Dinner-conference
  • Workshop on How To Write Scientific Articles

 

The Journée Phare 2016 Organizing Committee is pleased to announce a new item on our program this year: a workshop on how to write scientific articles!

Indeed, we have invited two editors of scientific journals to draw on their years of experience in scientific publication and present a workshop on the scientific writing process, on how to choose the right journal, and on the review process (both editorial and peer-driven).

 

 

Dr Louis Gendron

Associate Editor of the journal Progress in Neuro-Psychopharmacology & Biological Psychiatry

Université de Sherbrooke

 

 

 

Dr Jean-François Cloutier

Associate Editor of the Journal of Neuroscience

McGill University

 

 

 Friday, December 2nd:

 

  • Plenary sessions
  • Student presentations (oral presentations & poster sessions)

 

  Guest Speakers:      

 

          Plenary Sessions:

 

Elena Verdu

 

Dr Elena Verdú

McMaster University, Hamilton, ON

 

 

 

Dr Elena Verdú is a physician-researcher and an associate proffessor in the Department of Health Sciences at McMaster University, situated in Hamilton, Ontario. A gastroenterologist, Dr Verdú explores the role of microbiota in the physiopathology of chronic inflammatory disorders, such as inflammatory bowel disease and coeliac disease. Specifically, she studies how commensal bacteria interact with host tissue in order to prevent disease susceptibility. Her team is also interested in the mechanisms by which probiotic bacteria affect communication within the gut-brain axis. Dr Verdú and her laboratory use a vast array of molecular models, animal models and translational approaches. Elena Verdú also holds the Canada Research Chair in Inflammation, Microbiota and Nutrition.

 

Pieter Cullis

 

Dr. Pieter Cullis

University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC

 

 

 

Dr. Pieter Cullis is Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of British Columbia (UBC) in Vancouver, BC. A recognized leader in the fields of lipids, biological membranes and liposomal drug delivery systems, Dr. Cullis aims to further the understanding of membrane structure and function, thereby informing current therapeutic strategies. His team is particularly interested in the use of liposomal nanoparticulate (LN) systems to optimize drug delivery. In effect, his team investigates the potential of LN systems to deliver siRNA and various genetic immunostimulatory drugs, as well as the encapsulation of conventional chemotherapeutics in an effort to improve their efficacy in cancer therapy. Both researcher and inventor, Dr. Cullis has also co-founded multiple biotechnology companies over the years, most recently, Acuitas Pharmaceuticals and Precision NanoSystems. Over the course of his impressive career, he has authored more than 300 scientific articles and been named in more than 45 patents. He is also author the book titled The Personalized Medicine Revolution, published in February 2015.

Marie-Ève Tremblay

 

Dr. Marie-Ève Tremblay

Laval University, Quebec, QC

 

 

 

Dr. Marie-Ève Tremblay is assistant professor in the Department of Molecular Medicine at Laval University in Quebec City, QC. Her research focuses on the role of microglia in learning and memory.  In fact, recent work suggests that these immune cells contribute dynamically to normal brain function, playing a critical – and until now, unsuspected – role in neural circuitry remodeling. Dr. Tremblay seeks therefore to determine which molecular mechanisms microglia use to fulfill these roles and to investigate their involvement in the pathology of neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s disease (AD). Her work has notably revealed the existence of new microglial cells, known as ‘dark microglia’. These cells show signs of oxidative stress, giving them a dark appearance when viewed under the electron microscope, and are abundant in various pathological states, including AD. Dr. Marie-Ève Tremblay previously completed two post-doctoral fellowships at the Rochester Medical Center and at Wisconsin-Madison University, and is recipient of the Banting Research Foundation grant, attributed to new, exceptional investigators in biomedical research in their first few years of appointment at a Canadian university.

 

Official Program & Abstract Booklet

 

2016 Organizing Committee:

Journée Phare 2016

hebergement-hotel-chateau-bromont

  1-2 décembre 2016
Location  Hôtel Château Bromont

 

 

 

 

Nombre de participants: 250

 

 

CheckList  Jeudi, le 1 décembre:

 

  • Souper-conférence
  • Atelier sur la rédaction d’articles scientifiques

 

 

Pr Louis Gendron

Éditeur associé du Journal Progress in neuro-psychopharmacology & biological psychiatry

Université de Sherbrooke

 

 

Pr Jean-François Cloutier

Éditeur associé du Journal of Neuroscience

McGill University

 

 

 

Vendredi, le 2 décembre:

 

  • Conférences plénières
  • Présentations étudiantes (à l’oral et par affiche)
 Conférenciers invités:

Elena Verdu

 

Pre Elena Verdú

McMaster University, Hamilton, ON

Dre Elena Verdú est clinicienne-chercheure et professeure agrégée dans le département de médecine de l’Université McMaster, situé au Hamilton, Ontario. Gastro-entérologue de formation, Dre Verdú explore le rôle du microbiote dans la physiopathalogie de désordres inflammatoires chroniques, telles les maladies inflammatoires chroniques de l’intestin ou la maladie cœliaque.  Plus spécifiquement,  elle étudie comment les bactéries commensales et les composantes alimentaires interagissent avec les tissus de l’hôte et parviennent à moduler la susceptibilité à l’inflammation.  Également, son équipe s’intéresse aux mécanismes par lesquels les bactéries probiotiques affectent la communication dans l’axe cerveau-intestin. Dre Verdú et son laboratoire utilisent une vaste gamme de modèles moléculaires, de modèles animaux et d’approches cliniques translationnelles dans leur recherche. Elena Verdú est également titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en Inflammation, Microbiote et Nutrition.

 

Pieter Cullis

 

Pr Pieter Cullis

University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC

Le Pr Pieter Cullis est professeur dans le Département de Biochimie et de Biologie Moléculaire à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC) à Vancouver et ce, depuis 1985. Il est reconnu comme étant un pionnier dans le domaine des lipides, des membranes biologiques et les systèmes liposomaux d’administration des médicaments. À travers ses recherche, le Pr Cullis vise à approfondir notre compréhension de la structure et de la fonction des membranes et ainsi améliorer les approches thérapeutiques actuelles. Son équipe s’intéresse particulièrement à l’utilisation de nanoparticules lipidiques afin d’optimiser l’administration de médicaments tels les ARNs interférents et les médicaments immunostimulants. Ils cherchent également à encapsuler des agents chimiothérapiques conventionnels, afin d’améliorer leur efficacité dans le traitement du cancer. Chercheur et innovateur scientifique, le Pr Cullis est co-fondateur du Centre for Drug Research and Development et co-fondateur de plus de 9 compagnies biotechnologies, les plus récents étant Acuitas Pharmaceuticals et Précision NanoSystems. Au cours de cette carrière impressionnante, il a rédigé plus de 300 articles scientifiques et a obtenu plus de 45 brevets à son nom. De plus, le Pr Pieter Cullis est auteur du livre intitulé The Personalized Medicine Revolution, paru en février 2015.

 

Marie-Ève Tremblay

 

Pre Marie-Ève Tremblay

Université Laval, Québec, QC

Marie-Ève Tremblay est professeure adjointe dans le département de médecine moléculaire de l’Université Laval à Québec, QC. Son équipe de recherche s’intéresse particulièrement au rôle des cellules microgliales dans l’apprentissage et dans la mémoire. En effet, des travaux récents suggèrent que ces cellules immunitaires contribuent de manière dynamique au fonctionnement normal du cerveau et jouent un rôle jusqu’à maintenant insoupçonnée dans le remodelage de la circuiterie neuronale. Pre Tremblay vise donc à déterminer les mécanismes moléculaires qui sous-tendent ces nouveaux rôles et à explorer l’implication des microglies dans la pathogénèse de maladies neurodégénératives, dont la maladie Alzheimer (MA). Ces travaux ont notamment révélé l’existence de nouvelles cellules microgliales connues sous le nom de ‘dark microglia’. Ces cellules montrent des signes de stress oxydatif, ce qui leur donne un aspect sombre lorsqu’observées sous un microscope électronique, et sont abondantes dans des états pathologiques, dont le MA. Pre Marie-Ève Tremblay a précédemment fait deux post-doctorats aux universités Rochester Medical Center et Wisconsin-Madison, et est récipiendaire du subvention Banting Research Foundation, attribué à de nouveaux chercheurs exceptionnels dans le domaine de la santé ou de la recherche biomédicale se trouvant dans leurs premières années de nomination dans une université canadienne.

 

Programme officiel et livret de résumés

 

Horaire préliminaire :
 Comité organisateur 2016:

La Journée Phare 2016 a été organisée par un groupe d’étudiants gradués et un professeur associé venant des départements de Pharmacologie-Physiologie et de Microbiologie de la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé de l’Université de Sherbrooke, aidé par quatre représentants d’universités externes, comprenant McGill, l’Université de Montréal, l’Université Laval et l’Université d’Ottawa.

 

Nos partenaires pour l’édition 2016 :