Edition 2017

  November 2nd and 3rd 2017
Location  Château-Bromont Hotel
CheckList  Thursday, November 2nd:

 

  • Workshop on scientific popularization

 

Marianne Desautels-Marissal

Radio and television broadcasts Les Éclaireurs and Électrons libres

 

 

Marianne Desautels-Marissal is a biochemistry graduate from UQAM who became interested in scientific journalism during her undergrad, when she worked as a group leader at Débrouillards day camps. In 2014, she received one of the most prestigious Canadian scholarships in scientific journalism, the Fernand-Séguin scholarship. This affords the unique opportunity for young, promising journalists to learn their craft by working directly with professionals from major media outlets. This enabled Ms. Desautels-Marissal to work in journalism as a website editor for Radio-Canada (CBC). Now, she is a reporter for both the CBC radio broadcast Les Éclaireurs and the new TV broadcast Électrons libres from Télé-Québec, where she works alongside Pierre Chastenay and Rabii Rammal, with an aim towards scientific popularization. Marianne Desautels-Marissal is also a first-time author of a popular science work on microbiota, known as “Mille milliards d’amies: Comprendre et nourrir son microbiome” (roughly translated as “Thousands of Billions of Friends: How to Understand and Feed Your Microbiota”).

 

  • Conference-dinner

 

 

Professor Sylvain Martel

Polytechnique Montréal

 

 

 

 

Sylvain Martel is a research professor at Polytechnique Montréal with a background in engineering, and the head of the NanoRobotics Laboratory. He recently collaborated with researchers from Université de Montréal and McGill University in order to develop a new, more effective approach to deliver chemotherapy medication. This approach relies on the use of nanorobotic agents (specifically, magneto tactic bacteria) to guide and efficiently deliver chemotherapeutic drugs to the hypoxic zone of tumours. Professor Martel’s team consequently received the People’s Choice Award as part of the 2016 edition of the Québec Science magazine’s “Discovery of the Year” contest. Professor Sylvain Martel also holds a Canada Research Chair in Medical Nanorobotics.

 

CheckListFriday, November 3rd:

 

  • Plenary sessions
  • Student oral presentations and poster sessions
  • Networking cocktail
 Guest speakers:

 

 

Professor Gary Kobinger

Université Laval, Québec

 

 

 

 

Gary Kobinger is professor in the Microbiology-Infectiology and Immunology department at Université Laval (Québec, QC) and director of the Infectiology Research Center since July 2016. Professor Kobinger also previously held the position of Chief of Special Pathogens at the National Microbiology Laboratory in Winnipeg. A microbiologist by training, Professor Kobinger is known for his work on the prevention of viral hemorrhagic fevers. Most notably, he led the team responsible for developing the ZMapp, an innovative drug made of three monoclonal antibodies which targets the Ebola virus. He also participated in the making of a vaccine effective against this same virus (VSV-ZEBOV). His work on Ebola earned him the CBC Scientist of the Year award for 2015. Kobinger’s team still seeks to prevent the spread of similar diseases, and is now working on a vaccine for the Zika virus. The Zika virus is notably responsible for over 2500 cases of microcephaly in newborns in Brezil. Professor Kobinger also holds the Canada Research Chair in Novel Vaccines and Immunotherapies, and has authored over a hundred scientific articles published by highly respected journals.

 

 

Professor Frederic Geissmann

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York

 

 

 

Professor Frederic Geissmann is a research professor at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York (NY, USA). As an immunologist, Professor Geissmann is interested in the cellular and molecular mechanisms controlling the differentiation, maintenance and physiological functions of macrophages and monocytes. More specifically, he seeks to understand the role these mechanisms might play in cancer initiation and development. Recognized for providing fundamental contributions to his field, Professor Geissmann has published his works in multiple high impact factor journals such as Nature, Science, Cell, Immunity and Nature Immunology. Furthermore, Professor Geissmann is the recipient of many noteworthy and prestigious prizes. These include the European Young Investigator Award and the European Research Council Investigator Award, awarded during his time at King’s College in London.

 

 

 

Professor Guillaume Lettre

Université de Montréal

 

 

 

 

Guillaume Lettre is a professor at the Université de Montréal and a member of the Montreal Cardiology Institute, where he investigates the genetics of complex traits and pathologies, with a particular focus on cardiovascular diseases. His team uses sophisticated genotyping and DNA sequencing tools, as well as statistics and bioinformatics, in order to identify genetic polymorphisms that influence the risk of cardiovascular and hematology disorders. Armed with an expertise in complex trait genetics, gained during a postdoctoral fellowship at the Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT and at the Boston Children’s Hospital, Professor Lettre rallied over 300 researchers during a three-year period to contribute to a study recently published in Nature investigating the genetic bases of human height. Professor Lettre also holds a Canada Research Chair in Complex Trait Genetics.

 

Please consult the Abstract Booklet and Official Program here below:

For the moment, it is only available in French. However, you may find the complete schedule in English here below.

Abstract Booklet & Official Program

 

Official Program

Thursday, November 2nd
 
1:30 PM Arrival and registration

 

 
2:30 PM Workshop on Scientific Popularization AB Room
 

Marianne Desautels-Marissal

Scientific reporter for radio and television

Les Éclaireurs and Électrons Libres 

 

 

5:00 PM Welcoming cocktail

 

Atrium
6:30 PM Conference dinner AB Room
 

Professor Sylvain Martel, École Polytechnique de Montréal

Développer des nanorobots pour combattre le cancer : l’aventure scientifique

 

8:30 PM Evening festivities

 

Bistro
Friday, November 3rd
 
7:45 AM Arrival and registration

 

8:30 AM Welcoming remarks

 

ABC Room
8:35 AM Oral presentation ABC Room
 

Dr. Rolf Turk, Integrated DNA Technologies

Mitigating Risk of Off-Target Effects When Using CRIPSR Genome Editing

 

8:50 AM Plenary conference ABC Room
 

Professor Frederic Geissmann, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Development and Functions of Macrophages – Consequences of Somatic Mosaicism

 

9:50 AM Coffee break

 

Atrium
10:05 AM Student talks ABC Room
 

Hélène Mouilleron, Université de Sherbrooke

Découverte d’une deuxième séquence codante fonctionnelle dans le gène Lamine A/C

 

Jennifer Raisch, Université de Sherbrooke

Rôle de LRP6 dans l’homéostasie et l’inflammation intestinale

 

10:35 AM Blitz presentations ABC Room
 

Sabrina Bouchard, Université de Sherbrooke

Focusing on Cancer Hallmarks: Head and Neck Cancer Biomarkers Discovery

 

Jean-Michel Garant, Université de Sherbrooke

Identification de G-quadruplexes d’ARN potentiels sans définition de motif par G4RNA screener

 

Anne-Sophie Gary, Université Laval

La nécroptose : nouvelle voie de mort cellulaire induite par les rayons ultraviolets

 

 

David Lalaouna, Université de Sherbrooke

Demystified Functions of the RNA Chaperone Hfq in Bacterial Small RNAs-Based-Regulation

 

Audrey Lortie, Université de Sherbrooke

Development of a Bioinformatics Method to Identify and Quantify Promising Blood-Platelet Biomarkers of Fragile X Individuals

 

Delwende Sawadogo, Université Laval

Trends of Clinical Outcomes in Patients with a Traumatic Brain Injury in Canada Between 2006 and 2012: A Multicenter Retrospective Cohort Study

 

Professor Sébastien Talbot, Université de Montréal

Direct Allergen Detection by Vagal Sensory Neurons

 

10:55 AM Poster session # 1

Even-numbered posters

 

Knowlton
12:00 PM Lunch Restaurant/ bistro
1:00 PM Poster session # 2

Odd-numbered posters

 

Knowlton
2:00 PM Plenary conference ABC Room
 

Professor Guillaume Lettre, Institut de cardiologie de Montréal

The Role of Rare Coding Variants in Adult Height: Insights into Precision Medicine

 

3:00 PM Student talks ABC Room
Topic: cancer

 

Alexandre Foh-Dion, Université de Sherbrooke

Optimisation des paramètres pharmacocinétiques d’un nouvel inhibiteur de la proprotéine convertase PACE4 pour le traitement du cancer de la prostate

 

 

Vanessa Vaillancourt-Lavigueur, Université de Sherbrooke

L’inactivation de la phosphatase SHP-2 induit la sénescence des cellules cancéreuses colorectales humaines

 

Andréa Allaire, Université de Sherbrooke

Identification de nouvelles signatures permettant d’établir un meilleur pronostic chez les patients atteints d’un gliome IDH-wt

 

3:45 PM Coffee Break

 

Atrium
4:00 PM Student talks ABC Room
 

Marie Dorr, Université Laval

Identification d’une cytokine influençant la réparation des dommages génotoxiques induits par les ultraviolets dans les cellules de l’épiderme humain

 

Carolin Brand, Université de Sherbrooke

Les Flavivirus modulent l’expression des gènes et l’épissage alternatif de leurs cellules hôtes

 

4:30 PM Plenary conference ABC Room
 

Professor Gary Kobinger, Université Laval

Structure de réponse aux infections en situation d’urgence : de la recherche fondamentale au traitement

 

5:30 PM  

Concluding remarks and award ceremony

 

ABC Room
5:45 PM Networking cocktail and participation prize Atrium/Knowlton

 

2017 Organizing Committee:

 

Journée Phare 2017 is organized by a group of graduate students and an associate professor from the departments of Pharmacology-Physiology and Biochemistry of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences at Université de Sherbrooke. Student representatives from other universities, including the Université Laval, Université de Montréal and McGill University, also aid in the event.

Édition 2017

 

  2-3 novembre 2017
Location  Hôtel Château Bromont

 

CheckList  Jeudi, le  2 novembre:

 

  • Atelier sur la vulgarisation scientifique

 

 

Marianne Desautels-Marissal

Émissions Les Éclaireurs et Électrons libres

 

 

 

Biochimiste de formation, Marianne Desautels-Marissal est une graduée de l’UQAM qui, à travers de nombreuses activités durant son baccalauréat (dont l’animation des camps de jour des Débrouillards), s’est intéressée au journalisme scientifique. En 2014, elle a obtenu une des plus prestigieuses bourses au Canada en journalisme scientifique, la bourse Fernand-Séguin. Cette bourse offre une chance unique aux jeunes journalistes prometteurs d’apprendre le métier auprès de professionnels œuvrant au sein de médias importants, et a permis à Marianne de lancer sa carrière de vulgarisatrice scientifique. Ainsi,  elle a oeuvrée en tant que journaliste à la rédaction web à Radio-Canada. Maintenant, Mme Desautels-Marissal est chroniqueuse à la radio pour l’émission Les Éclaireurs de Radio-Canada, et reporter scientifique pour le nouveau magazine Électrons libres diffusé sur les ondes de Télé-Québec, accompagnée de Pierre Chastenay et Rabii Rammal. Mme Desautels-Marissal est également auteure d’un premier livre de vulgarisation portant sur le microbiome, intitulé « Mille milliards d’amies: Comprendre et nourrir son microbiome ».

 

  • Souper-conférence

 

 

Pr Sylvain Martel

Polytechnique Montréal

 

 

 

 

 

Ingénieur de formation, Pr Sylvain Martel est professeur à l’école Polytechnique de Montréal, où il dirige le Laboratoire de nanorobotique. En collaboration avec des chercheurs de l’Université de Montréal et de l’Université McGill et à l’aide de son expertise en nanorobotique, Pr Martel a récemment développé une approche novatrice afin d’augmenter l’efficacité des traitements chimiothérapiques actuels. Celle-ci repose sur l’utilisation d’agents nanorobotiques – soit, des bactéries magnétotactiques – afin de livrer les médicaments au zone hypoxique des tumeurs de manière efficace. Grâce à ces travaux, son équipe a notamment remporté le Prix du public de l’édition 2016 du concours « Découverte de l’année » du magazine Québec Science, célébrant les découvertes québécoises les plus impressionnantes de l’année. Pr Martel détient également un Chaire de Recherche du Canada en nanorobotique médicale.

CheckListVendredi, le 3 novembre:

 

  • Conférences plénières
  • Présentations étudiantes à l’oral et par affiche
  • Coquetel de réseautage
 Conférenciers invités:

 

 

Professeur Gary Kobinger

Université Laval, Québec

 

 

 

 

 

Pr Gary Kobinger est professeur dans le département de microbiologie-infectiologie et d’immunologie de l’Université Laval et directeur du Centre de recherche en infectiologie depuis juillet 2016. Auparavant, il a occupé le poste de chef du programme des agents pathogènes spéciaux au Laboratoire national de microbiologie à Winnipeg. Microbiologiste de formation, Pr Kobinger est reconnu pour ses recherches visant à guérir et à prévenir les fièvres hémorragiques à virus. Notamment, il a dirigé l’équipe responsable du développement d’un médicament innovateur contre le virus Ébola constitué d’un cocktail de trois anticorps monoclonaux et connu sous le nom de ZMapp, en plus du développement d’un vaccin efficace contre ce même virus (le VSV-ZEBOV). Ses travaux sur le virus Ébola lui ont d’ailleurs cerné le prix de Scientifique de l’année de Radio-Canada pour l’année 2015. L’équipe du Pr Kobinger cherche toujours à prévenir la propagation de telles maladies, ciblant maintenant le virus Zika, l’agent responsable de plus de 2500 naissances de nouveau-nés atteintes de microcéphalie au Brésil. Pr Gary Kobinger détient également la Chaire de recherche du Canada en immunothérapie et plateformes vaccinales innovantes, et est auteur de plus d’une centaine d’articles publiés dans des journaux scientifiques de haute renommée.

 

 

Professeur Frederic Geissmann

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York

 

 

 

 

Pr Frederic Geissmann est professeur-chercheur au Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center à New York (NY, É-U). Immunologiste, Pr Geissmann s’intéresse à décortiquer les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires qui sous-tendent la différentiation, le maintien et les fonctions physiologiques des macrophages et des monocytes. Plus particulièrement, ses travaux de recherche investiguent le rôle possible de ces mécanismes dans l’initiation et le développement du cancer. Reconnu pour ses contributions fondamentales dans le domaine du développement et du maintien des cellules macrophagiques, Pr Geissmann a notamment publié ses travaux dans de multiples journaux scientifiques à haut facteur d’impact, tels que Nature, Science, Cell, Immunity et Nature Immunology. Pr Geissmann est également récipiendaire de nombreux prix prestigieux, dont le European Young Investigator Award et le European Research Council Investigator award, décernés lors de ses années au King’s College à Londres.

 

 

 

Pr Guillaume Lettre

Université de Montréal

 

 

 

 

 

Guillaume Lettre est professeur agrégé en médecine à l’Université de Montréal et à l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal, où il s’intéresse à l’étude génétique des traits et maladies complexes humaines, dont les maladies cardiovasculaires. Ainsi, son équipe de recherche utilise des outils de génotypage et de reséquençage de l’ADN de fine pointe ainsi que des méthodes statistiques et bioinformatiques avancées afin d’identifier les polymorphismes génétiques qui influencent le risque de souffrir de maladies cardiovasculaires et hématologiques. Ayant également effectué une formation postdoctoale au Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT et au Children’s Hospital à Boston où il s’est spécialisé sur la génétique de traits complexes, le Pr Lettre a notamment été à la tête d’une étude récemment publiée dans Nature qui a mobilisé plus de 300 chercheurs pendant une période de plus de trois ans afin de déterminer les bases génétiques influençant la taille humaine. De plus, Pr Lettre est détenteur d’une Chaire de Recherche du Canada sur la Génétique des Traits Complexes Humains.

 

Consultez le programme officiel et le livret de résumés en appuyant ci-dessous!

 

Programme officiel et livret de résumés

 

Programme officiel

 

Jeudi, le 2 novembre
 
13h30 Arrivée et enregistrement

 

 
14h30 Atelier sur la vulgarisation scientifique Salon AB
 

Marianne Desautels-Marissal

Chroniqueuse à la radio et reporter scientifique

Émissions Les Éclaireurs de Radio-Canada et Électrons libres de Télé-Québec

 

17h00 Coquetel de bienvenue

 

Atrium
18h30 Souper-conférence Salon AB
 

Pr Sylvain Martel, École Polytechnique de Montréal

Développer des nanorobots pour combattre le cancer : l’aventure scientifique

 

20h30 Soirée festive

 

Bistro

 

Vendredi, le 3 novembre
 
7h45 Arrivée et enregistrement

 

8h30 Mot de bienvenue

 

Salon ABC
8h35 Présentation orale Salon ABC
 

Dr. Rolf Turk, Integrated DNA Technologies

Mitigating Risk of Off-Target Effects When Using CRIPSR Genome Editing

 

8h50 Conférence plénière Salon ABC
 

Pr Frederic Geissmann, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Development and Functions of Macrophages – Consequences of Somatic Mosaicism

 

9h50 Pause-café

 

Atrium
10h05 Présentations orales étudiantes Salon ABC
 

Hélène Mouilleron, Université de Sherbrooke

Découverte d’une deuxième séquence codante fonctionnelle dans le gène Lamine A/C

 

Jennifer Raisch, Université de Sherbrooke

Rôle de LRP6 dans l’homéostasie et l’inflammation intestinale

 

10h35 Présentations orales courtes de type « blitz » Salon ABC
 

Sabrina Bouchard, Université de Sherbrooke

Focusing on Cancer Hallmarks: Head and Neck Cancer Biomarkers Discovery

 

Jean-Michel Garant, Université de Sherbrooke

Identification de G-quadruplexes d’ARN potentiels sans définition de motif par G4RNA screener

 

Anne-Sophie Gary, Université Laval

La nécroptose : nouvelle voie de mort cellulaire induite par les rayons ultraviolets

David Lalaouna, Université de Sherbrooke

Demystified Functions of the RNA Chaperone Hfq in Bacterial Small RNAs-Based Regulation

 

Audrey Lortie, Université de Sherbrooke

Development of a Bioinformatics Method to Identify and Quantify Promising Blood Platelet Biomarkers of Fragile X Individuals

 

Delwende Sawadogo, Université Laval

Trends of Clinical Outcomes in Patients with a Traumatic Brain Injury in Canada Between 2006 and 2012: A Multicenter Retrospective Cohort Study

 

Pr Sébastien Talbot, Université de Montréal

Direct Allergen Detection by Vagal Sensory Neurons

 

10h55 Session de présentations par affiche no1

Affiches nombres pairs

 

Knowlton
12h00 Dîner Restaurant/ bistro
13h00 Session de présentations par affiche no2

Affiches nombres impairs

 

Knowlton
14h00 Conférence plénière Salon ABC
 

Pr Guillaume Lettre, Institut de cardiologie de Montréal

The Role of Rare Coding Variants in Adult Height: Insights into Precision Medicine

 

15h00 Présentations orales étudiantes Salon ABC
Thématique de la session : cancer

 

Alexandre Foh-Dion, Université de Sherbrooke

Optimisation des paramètres pharmacocinétiques d’un nouvel inhibiteur de la proprotéine convertase PACE4 pour le traitement du cancer de la prostate

 

 

Vanessa Vaillancourt-Lavigueur, Université de Sherbrooke

L’inactivation de la phosphatase SHP-2 induit la sénescence des cellules cancéreuses colorectales humaines

 

Andréa Allaire, Université de Sherbrooke

Identification de nouvelles signatures permettant d’établir un meilleur pronostic chez les patients atteints d’un gliome IDH-wt

 

15h45 Pause-café

 

Atrium
16h00 Présentations orales étudiantes Salon ABC
 

Marie Dorr, Université Laval

Identification d’une cytokine influençant la réparation des dommages génotoxiques induits par les ultraviolets dans les cellules de l’épiderme humain

 

Carolin Brand, Université de Sherbrooke

Les Flavivirus modulent l’expression des gènes et l’épissage alternatif de leurs cellules hôtes

 

16h30 Conférence plénière Salon ABC
 

Pr Gary Kobinger, Université Laval

Structure de réponse aux infections en situation d’urgence : de la recherche fondamentale au traitement

 

17h30 Mot de la fin et remise des prix de présentations

 

Salon ABC
17h45 Coquetel de réseautage et remise du prix de participation Atrium/Knowlton

 

 

Comité organisateur 2017:

La Journée Phare 2017 est organisée par un groupe d’étudiants gradués et un professeur associé venant des départements de Pharmacologie-Physiologie de la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé de l’Université de Sherbrooke, aidé par des représentants d’universités externes, comprenant McGill, l’Université de Montréal, et l’Université Laval.