Edition 2018

  November 15th-16th 2018

Location  Hôtel Château Bromont

 

CheckList  Thursday, November 15th :

 

  • Plenary conferences
  • Oral and poster presentations from students
  • Dinner Conference
 Guest speakers:

Dr Reza Forghani
Associate professor in Neuroradiology, McGill University
Reza Forghani is the Associate Director of the Department of Radiology at Montreal’s Jewish General Hospital and a researcher at the Lady Davis Institute. Dr. Forghani holds a medical degree and a doctorate from McGill University and has completed a Fellowship at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Forghani is an expert in neuroradiology and imaging for head and neck. Her research focuses on the use of artificial intelligence in cancer detection, to improve diagnostic accuracy and reduce the need for invasive biopsies. He is involved in the development of “Radiomics”, a field of medical study that combines data from both medical imaging and patient records. The combination of radiomics and artificial intelligence thus foreshadows a personalized medicine more effective in oncology. His work, at the meeting of basic science, clinical science, technology and biology, provides insight into the power of integrating innovations into health care.

Pr Reinhart Reithmeier
Professor int the Department of Biochemistry, University of Toronto

 

Reinhart Reithmeier  is known internationally for his research on membrane proteins in human health and disease. A dedicated mentor, he successfully trained 10 PhD students, 8 Master’s students and served on over 50 graduate supervisory committees. As Graduate Coordinator in the Institute of Medical Sciences and Biochemistry Dr. Reithmeier was a strong advocate for students. A former Chair of Biochemistry (2002-13) and Special Advisor to the Dean of Graduate Studies on Graduate Skills Development and Engagement (2015-17), he was dedicated to ensuring that graduate students develop their skills and professional network, and are fully prepared to take advantage of the diverse job opportunities available to them in today’s global marketplace. One of his notable initiatives in 2016 was completing the 10,000 PhDs Project, which determined the current positions of the 10,886 individuals who graduated with a PhD from the U of T from 2000 to 2015. An award-winning lecturer and graduate mentor, Dr. Reithmeier enjoys teaching introductory biochemistry to over 1,000 undergraduate students every year, as well as upper level and graduate courses. His leadership was recognized by election to the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

 Dinner Conference :

 

 

BF Francis Ouellette
Consultant in bioinformatics

 

Francis Ouellette has accumulated management positions in the field of bioinformatics. After graduation (McGill University, University of Calgary, Simon Fraser University), he became coordinator of NCBI’s GenBank database (1993-1998). He was Associate Professor and Director of the Center for Bioinformatics at the University of British Columbia (UBiC) from 2004 to 2007, before transferring to the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research Computing and Bioinformatics Platform. (OICR), in Toronto, where he stayed for 10 years. During this time, he also became an associate professor at the University of Toronto in the study of systems biology to better understand cancer. Mr. Ouellette also sits on the boards of the “Saccharomyces Genome Database” and “ELIXIR”, and is involved in the publishing of the PLOS Computational Biology and DATABASE journals.

Now as a consultant in bioinformatics, Francis Ouellette’s expertise in the management of big data will enable him to advise several teams in the development of his scientific strategy and in the definition of his vision.

CheckList  Friday, November 16th :

 

  • Plenary conferences
  • Oral and poster presentations from students
  • Networking Cocktail

 

 Guest speakers:

 

Pr. Vincenzo Di Marzo

Director of the Institute of Biomolecular Chemistry of the National Research Council in Pozzuoli, Italy.

Chair in Research Excellence in Canada on the Microbiome-Endocannainoidome Axis in Metabolic Health, Université Laval.

Internationally renowned in the field of pharmacology of endocannabidoids, Pr. Di Marzo is co-author of more than 600 articles in scientific journals and has more than 50,000 citations. Prof. Di Marzo is listed in 2017 on the list of “Worlds Most Influential Scientific Minds” by the strategic information society Clarivate Analytics.

His research group is interested in the intestinal microbiome and its inflammatory role in the development of various diseases, such as obesity, type II diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. These health issues are ubiquitous in our societies, and the role of the microbiome in their development and deterioration is still unclear. Prof. Di Marzo’s work thus seeks to identify new targets and therapeutic approaches in the management of these complex disorders, with a marked interest for endocannabinoids, involved in many systems including the management of energy metabolism. Knowing that the microorganisms that inhabit the digestive tract vary according to the diet, they seek to know if it is possible to prevent or alter the development of different diseases by changing the diet.

 

 

Frédéric Leblond is a professor in the Department of Engineering Physics at Polytechnique de Montréal and Director of the Optical Radiology Laboratory.

 

 

His research interests are to develop new medical instruments using different types of light to characterize tissues in a less invasive way and improve diagnostics during surgical procedures. In 2017, Québec Science magazine identifies its anti-cancer probe project as one of Québec’s 10 scientific discoveries of the year! This pencil-sized probe allows surgeons to determine in real time whether a tissue is cancerous or healthy by virtue of its specific signature in response to different light stimuli, allowing for better identification of the margins of the cancerous tissue. He subsequently won the Quebec Science 2017 Public Prize, reflecting the importance of this project for the population. Revolutionary technology, the probe could be marketed in the coming years as its efficiency is impressive.

 

Official program

 

Organizing committee 2018

The Journée Phare 2018 was organized by a group of graduate students and an associate professor from the departments of Pharmacology-Physiology of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of the University of Sherbrooke, assisted by representatives of other universities.

Édition 2018

  15-16 novembre 2018

 

Location  Hôtel Château Bromont

 

CheckList  Jeudi, le 15 novembre:

 

  • Conférences plénières
  • Présentations étudiantes à l’oral et par affiche
  • Souper-Conférence
 Conférencier(e)s invité(e)s:

Dr Reza Forghani
Professeur associé en Neuroradiologie, Université McGill

 

Reza Forghani est le directeur associé du Département de Radiologie de l’Hôpital Général Juif de Montréal en plus d’être chercheur à l’institut Lady Davis. Titulaire d’un diplôme de médecine et d’un doctorat de l’université McGill en plus d’avoir réalisé un Fellowship à la Harvard Medical School et au Massachussetts General Hospital, le Dr. Forghani est un expert en neuroradiologie et en imagerie de la tête et du cou. Ses travaux se penche sur l’utilisation de l’intelligence artificielle dans la détection du cancer, pour améliorer la précision des diagnostics et diminuer le recours aux biopsies invasives. Il participe au développement de la <<Radiomique>>, un domaine d’étude médical regroupant des données provenant à la fois de l’imagerie médicale et du dossier du patient. La combinaison de la radiomique et de l’intelligence artificielle laisse ainsi présager une médecine personnalisée plus efficace en oncologie. Ses travaux à la rencontre entre science fondamentale, science clinique, technologie et biologie donnent un aperçu du pouvoir de l’intégration des innovations dans les soins de santé.

Pr Reinhart Reithmeier

Professeur au Département de Biochimie, Université de Toronto

 

Reinhart Reithmeier est reconnu internationalement pour ses recherches sur les protéines membranaires dans le domaine de la santé humaine et des maladies. Mentor dévoué, il a formé avec succès 10 doctorants, 8 étudiants à la maîtrise et a participé à plus de 50 comités de supervision. En tant que coordinateur des études supérieures à l’Institut des sciences médicales et de biochimie, le Dr Reithmeier était un ardent défenseur des étudiants. Ancien président de Biochemistry (2002-13) et conseiller spécial auprès du doyen des études supérieures sur le développement et l’engagement des diplômés (2015-2017), il s’est engagé à faire en sorte que les étudiant(e)s des cycles supérieurs développent leurs compétences et leur réseau professionnel, en plus de tirer parti des diverses possibilités d’emploi qui leur sont offerts sur le marché d’aujourd’hui. Une de ses initiatives marquantes en 2016 consistait à terminer le projet de 10 000 PhDs, qui a déterminé les postes actuels des 10 886 personnes ayant obtenu un doctorat de l’Université de Toronto de 2000 à 2015. Conférencier et mentor diplômé, Dr Reithmeier aime enseigner l’introduction à la biochimie à plus de 1000 étudiants de premier cycle chaque année, ainsi que des cours aux cycles supérieurs. Son leadership a été reconnu par l’élection à l’Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé.

 Souper-Conférence :

 

 

BF Francis Ouellette
Conseiller en bio-informatique

 

Francis Ouellette a accumulé les positions de gestion dans le domaine de la bio-informatique. Après ses études graduées (Université McGill, Université de Calgary, Université Simon Fraser), il devient coordonnateur de la base de données GenBank du NCBI (1993-1998). Il fut professeur associé et directeur du centre de bio-informatique de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique (UBiC) de 2004 à 2007, avant de transférer à la plateforme d’informatique et de bio-informatique de l’Ontario Institute for Cancer Research (OICR), à Toronto, où il resta 10 ans. Pendant cette période, il devient aussi professeur associé à l’Université de Toronto dans l’étude de la biologie des systèmes pour mieux comprendre le cancer. M. Ouellette siège aussi sur les conseils d’administration de la « Saccharomyces Genome Database » et de « ELIXIR », en plus d’être impliqué dans l’édition des journaux PLOS Computational Biology et DATABASE.
Maintenant comme consultant en bio-informatique, l’expertise de Francis Ouellette dans la gestion des mégadonnées lui permettra de bien conseiller plusieurs équipes dans le développement de sa stratégie scientifique et dans la définition de sa vision.
CheckList  Vendredi, le 16 novembre:

 

  • Conférences plénières
  • Présentations étudiantes à l’oral et par affiche
  • Coquetel de réseautage

 

 Conférencier(e)s invité(e)s:

 

Pr. Vincenzo Di Marzo

Directeur de l’Institut de chimie biomoléculaire du Conseil national de recherche à Pozzuoli, Italie.

Chaire d’excellence en Recherche du Canada sur l’axe microbiome-endocannainoïdome dans la santé métabolique, Université Laval.

Sommité internationale dans le domaine de la pharmacologie des endocannabidoïdes, le Pr. Di Marzo est co-auteur de plus de 600 articles dans des journaux scientifiques et compte plus de 50 000 citations. Le Pr. Di Marzo figure en 2017 sur la liste des « Worlds Most Influential Scientific Minds » réalisée par la société d’information stratégique Clarivate Analytics.

Son groupe de recherche s’intéresse au microbiome intestinal et à son rôle inflammatoire dans l’apparition de différentes maladies, telles que l’obésité, le diabète de type II et les maladies cardiovasculaires. Ces problématiques de santé sont omniprésentes dans nos sociétés, et le rôle du microbiome dans leur développement et leur détérioration n’est pas encore élucidé. Les travaux du Pr. Di Marzo cherchent ainsi à identifier de nouvelles cibles et approches thérapeutiques dans la gestion de ces atteintes complexes, avec un intérêt marqué pour les endocannabinoïdes, impliqués dans de nombreux systèmes dont la gestion du métabolisme énergétique. En sachant que les microorganismes qui peuplent le tube digestif varient en fonction de l’alimentation, ils cherchent à savoir s’il est possible de prévenir ou d’altérer le développement de différentes maladies en modifiant l’alimentation.

 

 

 

Frédéric Leblond est professeur au département de génie physique à la Polytechnique de Montréal et Directeur du Laboratoire de Radiologie Optique.

 

Ses intérêts de recherche sont de développer des nouveaux instruments médicaux en utilisant différents types de lumière afin de caractériser les tissus de manière moins invasive et améliorer les diagnostics lors d’interventions chirurgicales. En 2017, le magazine Québec Science identifie son projet de sonde anti-cancer comme une des 10 découvertes scientifiques québécoises de l’année! Cette sonde, de la taille d’un crayon, permet aux chirurgiens de déterminer en temps réel si un tissu est cancéreux ou sain grâce à sa signature spécifique en réponse à différents stimuli lumineux, permettant une meilleure identification des marges du tissu cancéreux. Il gagne par la suite le prix du public Québec Science 2017, reflétant l’importance de ce projet pour la population. Technologie révolutionnaire, la sonde pourrait être mise en marché dans les prochaines années tant son efficacité est impressionnante.

 

Programme officiel

 

Comité organisateur 2018

La Journée Phare 2018 a été organisée par un groupe d’étudiants gradués et un professeur associé venant des départements de Pharmacologie-Physiologie et de Biochimie de la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé de l’Université de Sherbrooke, aidé par des représentants d’universités externes.