Edition 2019

  December 5th-6th 2019
Location  Hôtel Cheribourg
CheckList  Thursday, november 5th:

 

  • Networking cocktail

Bioethics Workshop 101: Issues and Perspectives in the 21st Century

 

Pr Yann Joly

Human Genetics Department,

McGill University

 

 

 

 

Yann Joly is the research director at the Center for Genomics and Policy (CGP) and Associate Professor in the Department of Human Genetics at McGill University. In addition to having a Ph.D, Pr. Joly is also a lawyer and was awarded the Barreau du Québec’s Avocat émérite distinction in 2012. He is also president of the International Human Epigenome Consortium’s Bioethics Working Group ( IHEC) as well as the Ethics and Governance Committee of the International Cancer Genome Consortium (ICGC). His research interests lie at the crossroads of health law (biotechnology and other emerging health technologies) and bioethics. He has published more than 120 scientifics articles in the fields of law, science and ethics. He also received the prestigious Barreau du Québec’s Merit Award (Innovations) in 2012 for his work in the right to privacy in the biomedical field.

 

Étienne Crevier

BiogeniQ CEO

 

 

 

 

 

 

Étienne Crevier graduated from the University of Montreal with a Master’s degree in biochemistry – molecular genetics and a background in business administration from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology – Sloan School of Management. After a landmark event in his life, he decided to create his company BiogeniQ in 2013 and has been the CEO since the very beginning. BiogeniQ is a company aimed at improving the treatment and well-being of the patient using their genetic information.

 

 

Benoît Leblanc

Biology department,

Université de Sherbrooke

 

 

 

 

Benoit Leblanc is a lecturer in the Department of Biology at the Université de Sherbrooke. He is particularly known for the quality of his teaching and his great talents as an popularizer. He participated in the Sherbrooke edition of Pinte de Science in 2016 and led several discussions following the presentation of scientific documentaries (Food Evolution, Giving his body to science). He is also known for his talent as a comic book artist that he shares on his blog (http://gensenblouseblanche.blogspot.com/).

 

Annabelle Cumyn

Doctor

CIUSSS de l’Estrie-CHUS

 

 

Annabelle Cumyn is a McGill-certified internal medicine specialist who has been practicing obstetric medicine at CIUSSS in Estrie-CHUS since 2017. She also has a Masters in Health Sciences Pedagogy from the University of Illinois in Chicago. His research interests are in curriculum development and research ethics. She is currently Chair of the Human Health Research Ethics Committee of the CHUS and the Research Ethics Committee (CER) of the CIUSSS of Estrie-CHUS and is a member of the research ethics of the Three Canadian Councils.

 

Diner conference:

Marc-André D’Aoust

Médicago

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marc-André D’Aoust received his PhD in Plant Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from Université Laval. He started his career at Medicago in 1999 as team manager. He subsequently worked as a product development project director and senior director for research and innovation. He later became Vice President of Research and Innovation at the same company in 2014. He is responsible for overseeing research and development activities related to the vaccine production platform and associated generic technologies. He led the discovery and development of the transient protein expression system, including transient plant-based expression technology, influenza-like particle production, and the VLPExpress high-throughput discovery platform.

CheckList   Friday, December 6th:

 

  • Plenary conferences
  • Oral and poster presentations from students
  • Dinner Conference
Guest speakers :

 

 

Pr Philippe Gros

Department of Biochemistry,

McGill University

 

 

 

 

 

Professor Philippe Gros has been a professor in the Department of Biochemistry at McGill University since 1993. His research focuses on the study of new genes, proteins or pathways that can lead to complex genetic diseases using murine models, particularly infectious diseases, spina bifida and cancer. It is in fact his research on malaria that allowed him to be part of the 10 discoveries of the year 2018 according to the magazine Quebec Science. To do this, his research team has found a molecule that can fight Plasmodium falciparum and treat cerebral malaria, one of the most dangerous complications of malaria. In addition, he has published over 250 scientific articles in prestigious scientific journals and received the McLaughlin Medal for Scientific Excellence from the Royal Society of Canada in 2014.

Guest speakers :

 

Pr John Bell

Departments of medicine and biochemistry, microbiology & immunology,

University of Ottawa

 

 

 

 

 

John Bell is a professor in the departments of medicine and biochemistry, microbiology & immunology at the University of Ottawa and a senior scientist at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute. Over the course of the last 30 years, his laboratory has developed a cutting-edge expertise in the use of viruses as treatments against cancer, leading to more than 200 papers published in high impact journals. He also heads the Canadian Oncolytic Virus Consortium, a Terry Fox funded group from across Canada that is developing virus-based cancer therapeutics and is the director of the Biotherapeutics Program for the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research. He is the Scientific Director of the National Centre of Excellence for the development of Biotherapeutics for Cancer Therapy and is a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

 


Organizing committee 2019

The Journée Phare 2019 was organized by a group of graduate students and an associate professor from many fields of study of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of the University of Sherbrooke, assisted by representatives of other universities.

Édition 2019

  5-6 décembre 2019
Location  Hôtel Cheribourg
CheckList    Jeudi, le 5 décembre:

 

  • Coquetel de réseautage

Atelier bio-éthique 101 : Enjeux et perspectives au 21e siècle

Panel de discussion:

 

Professeur Yann Joly

Département de génétique humaine,

Université McGill

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yann Joly est le directeur de la recherche au Centre de Génomique et Politiques (CGP) et professeur associé au départment de génétique humaine de l’Université McGill. En plus d’avoir obtenu un Ph.D, Pr. Joly est aussi avocat et a reçu la distinction Avocat émérite du Barreau du Québec en 2012. Il est également président du Groupe de Travail sur la Bioéthique de l’International Human Epigenome Consortium (IHEC) ainsi que du Comité d’Éthique et de Gouvernance de l’International Cancer Genome Consortium (ICGC).  Ses intérêts de recherche se situent aux croisements du droit de la santé (biotechnologies et autres technologies de la santé en émergence) et de la bioéthique. Il a publié plus de 120 articles scientifiques dans les domaines du droit, de la science et de l’éthique. Il a aussi reçu le prestigieux prix du Mérite (Innovations) du Barreau du Québec en 2012 pour ses travaux dans le droit au respect de la vie privée dans le domaine biomédical.

 

Michel Cameron

vice-présidente aux affaires scientifique chez BiogéniQ

 

 

 

 

 

 

Michel Cameron est vice-président aux affaires scientifiques chez BiogéniQ depuis 2014. BiogeniQ est une compagnie visant à améliorer le traitement et le bien-être du patient en utilisant leur information génétique. Il a tout d’abord obtenu une maîtrise en biologie à l’Université de Queens ainsi qu’un doctorat en pharmacologie de l’Université de Montréal. Il a également fait un post-doctorat à l’Institut de Cardiologie de Montréal et agit aussi à titre de directeur de la pharmacogénomique chez Biron.

 

Benoît Leblanc

Département de biologie,

Université de Sherbrooke

 

 

 

 

Benoit Leblanc est chargé de cours au département de biologie de l’Université de Sherbrooke. Il est notamment reconnu pour la qualité de son enseignement et ses grands talents de vulgarisateur. Il a participé à l’édition sherbrookoise de Pinte de Science en 2016 et animé plusieurs discussions suite à la présentation de documentaires scientifiques (Food Evolution, Donner son corps à la science). Il est aussi reconnu pour ses talents de bédéiste scientifique qu’il partage sur son blogue (http://gensenblouseblanche.blogspot.com/).

 

Annabelle Cumyn

Médecin

CIUSSS de l’Estrie-CHUS

 

 

Annabelle Cumyn est une spécialiste en médecine interne diplômée de l’Université McGill qui pratique la médecine obstétricale au CIUSSS de l’Estrie-CHUS depuis 2017. Elle possède aussi une maîtrise en pédagogie des sciences de la santé du University of Illinois de Chicago. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur le développement curriculaire et l’éthique de la recherche. Elle est présentement présidente du comité d’éthique de la recherche en santé chez l’humain du CHUS ainsi que du Comité d’Éthique de la Recherche (CER) du CIUSSS de l’Estrie-CHUS en plus d’être membre du groupe d’éthique de la recherche des Trois Conseils canadiens.

 

 Souper-Conférence:

 

Marc-André D’Aoust

Médicago

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marc-André D’Aoust a obtenu son doctorat en biochimie des plantes et biologie moléculaire de l’Université Laval. Il a commencé sa carrière chez Medicago, en 1999, en étant directeur d’équipe. Il a subséquemment été directeur de projet en développement de produit et directeur sénior à la recherche et à l’innovation. Il est, par la suite, devenu vice-président à la recherche et à l’innovation chez cette même compagnie en 2014. Il est responsable de la supervision des activités de recherche et de développement en lien avec la plateforme de production de vaccins et les technologies génériques associées. Il a dirigé la découverte et le développement du système d’expression de protéines transitoires, comprenant une technologie d’expression transitoire à base de plantes, la production de particules de type virus grippal et la plateforme de découverte à haut débit VLPExpress.

CheckList    Vendredi, le 6 décembre:

 

  • Présentation blitz
  • Présentations étudiantes à l’oral et par affiche
  • Coquetel de réseautage
 Conférencier(e)s invité(e)s :

 

Professeur Philippe Gros

Département de Biochimie

Université McGill

 

 

 

 

 

Le Pr Philippe Gros est professeur au département de biochimie de l’Université McGill depuis 1993. Ses recherches se portent sur l’étude de nouveaux gènes, protéines ou voies pouvant mener à des maladies génétiques complexes à l’aide de modèles murins, particulièrement les maladies infectieuses, le spina bifida et le cancer. Ce sont d’ailleurs ses travaux de recherche sur la malaria qui lui ont permi de faire parti des 10 découvertes de l’année 2018 selon le magazine Québec Science. Pour ce faire, son équipe de recherche a trouvé une molécule pouvant combattre Plasmodium falciparum et traiter le neuropaludisme, l’une des complications les plus dangereuses de la malaria. De plus, il a publié plus de 250 articles scientifiques dans des journaux scientifiques prestigieux et il a reçu la Médaille McLaughlin pour l’excellence scientifique de la Société royale du Canada en 2014.

 Conférencier(e)s invité(e)s :

 

Pr John Bell

Département de médecine et biochimie, microbiologie et immunologie,

Université Ottawa

 

 

 

 

 

John Bell est professeur dans les départements de médecine et de biochimie, microbiologie & immunologie à l’Université d’Ottawa et chercheur senior à l’Institut de Recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa.  Durant les 30 dernières années, son laboratoire a développé une expertise de pointe dans l’utilisation de virus comme traitement contre le cancer, menant à la publication de plus de 200 articles dans des journaux à haut impact. Il est aussi à la tête du Canadian Oncolytic Virus Consortium, un groupe de recherche canadien subventionné par la fondation Terry Fox dont le but est de développer des traitements contre le cancer basé sur l’utilisation de virus, et directeur du programme biothérapeutique de l’Institut Ontarien de Recherche sur le Cancer. Finalement, il est Directeur Scientifique du Centre National d’Excellence pour le développement de biothérapeutiques pour le traitement du cancer et membre de la Société Royale du Canada.

Horaire

Programme officiel


Comité organisateur 2019

La Journée Phare 2019 a été organisée par un groupe d’étudiants gradués et un professeur associé venant de plusieurs départements de la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé de l’Université de Sherbrooke, aidé par des représentants d’universités externes.